Trickythumbs’ Blag


A Long Time Coming
December 30, 2009, 10:24 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I know it’s been a while since I last posted, and by “a while” I really mean almost an entire year. For a while now I’ve had the itch to write about non-MMO topics, because well, I’m a writer. Believe it or not, I enjoy writing the most when it’s about everything I care about and not just one of the many.

So, to that end, I’ve come to write about some other games and potentially a few other things as well. We’ll see where it all goes, and how often I manage to squeeze in some writing time.

Yesterday I played Demon’s Souls for the first time. You know what? There aren’t many games where I find myself actually saying that. Like, I didn’t say, “Today, I played Dragon Age: Origins for the first time.” even though I throughly loved said title. That’s because playing this game is a wholly different experience that most other games. I remember the first times I played World of Warcraft and Team Fortress 2 because they were obviously landmark moments in gaming.

Now, while Demon’s Souls has its share of design troubles, it’s easily far more fun than it is not fun. That is, so long as you play cautiously and pick a class that compliments your play style. Also, yeah, I hope you’ve got some experience with gaming. I’m not really sure Demon’s Souls is for the newbie videogame player.

It’s funny how Demon’s Souls  — the hardest game in a long time — hit almost exactly a year after the newest Prince of Persia, arguably the easiest game in a long time. It’s most certainly the antithesis of Ubisoft’s incredibly easing of their long venerated (well, maybe not game number two) reboot. Could the re-reboot that’s coming in 2010 be a harder game? We’ll see, but my guess is probably, yes.

All in all, I prefer it when games give me a good challenge. Some games may take it too far, or become too challenging due to shoddy controls or camera, but I find that I prefer a challenge over a cakewalk. I can easily complete cakewalk games, sure, but I remember them less fondly and find myself wanting something to complain or whine about that isn’t, well, “It’s too easy!”

After all, you can’t sharpen an axe without a good stone to grind.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

